Insurance CoverageMarketplace
Medicaid ExpansionLong Term Care
This is the "Home" page of the "U.S. Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Information on the ACA for librarians, health professionals, consumers, and researchers
Last Updated: Oct 28, 2016 URL: http://libguides.nyam.org/aca Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

ACA Debate

ACA Backlash

  • Little Evidence of the ACA Increasing Part-Time Work So Far
    Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, September 2014
  • Debunking Republican Claims about Coverage Losses under the Affordable Care Act
    House of Representatives, December 2013 (PDF file)
    Of the reported 4.7 million people who receive cancellation notices, 2.35 million should have the option to renew their 2013 coverage. An additional 1.4 million should be eligible for tax credits through the marketplaces or Medicaid, which will provide them more comprehensive coverage at lower rates. Of the remaining individuals, only 10,000 individuals in 18 counties in a single state would be unable to access a catastrophic plan, and many of these individuals may sign up for coverage through their state exchange.
  • The Affordable Care Act Can Survive Low Enrollment and Adverse Selection in the First Year
    RWJF, December 2013 (web page)
    This report reviews the provisions already built into the ACA that will help to mitigate the effect of low enrollment and adverse selection, high enrollment in insurance marketplaces among people who are older, and thus less healthy and more costly.
  • Healthcare.gov Progress and Performance Report
    DHHS, November 2013 (PDF file)
    The newly installed technical monitoring instruments have allowed for constant real-time analysis of site performance. With this new data and management structure the team has the capacity to rapidly respond to any incidents and to better understand root causes.
  • Cancellation of Nongroup Health Insurance Policies
    CRS, November 2013 (PDF file)
    This report provides background information about health insurance cancellations, non-renewals and rescissions, including applicable federal rules under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) and ACA. Given that the concern about insurance cancellations has largely focused on the nongroup market, this report discusses federal requirements and implementation issues that apply to nongroup coverage.
  • Legislative Actions to Repeal, Defund, or Delay the Affordable Care Act
    CRS, December 2013 (PDF file)
    This report summarizes legislative and other actions taken to repeal, defund, or delay the ACA since the law’s enactment. The information is presented in four appendixes.
  • Evaluating the "Keep Your Health Plan Fix" Implications for the Affordable Care Act Compared to Legislative Alternatives  
      
    RAND, 2014 (web page)
    This report describes a comparative analysis of three proposals to remedy the situation: one by the White House, another by Senator Mary Landrieu (D-LA), and a third by Representative Fred Upton (R-MI).
  • Health Reform Monitoring Survey (HRMS)
    A quarterly survey of the nonelderly population that is exploring the value of cutting-edge Internet-based survey methods to monitor the Affordable Care Act (ACA) before data from federal government surveys are available. Funding for the core HRMS is provided by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the Ford Foundation, and the Urban Institute.

Implementation

 

The Law

This guide focuses on the specific Titles of the health care law. Under each tab you will find research resources related to that part of the Act.

The structure of this guide was taken directly from the HHS Web site, where you can read the actual Act and the SCOTUS decision.

Title I includes information on Insurance Coverage, Health Insurance Marketplaces, and Essential Health Benefits

Title II includes information on CHIP and Medicaid Expansion

Title III includes information on Medicare, Performance Measures, Physician Payments, and Improving Care

Title IV includes information on Preventive Health Services

Title V includes information on Community Health Centers and Health Workforce Retention

Title VI includes information on Patient Engagement, Nursing Home Safety, and Eliminating Waste, Fraud and Abuse

Title VII includes information on Prescription Drugs

Title VIII the CLASS Act is not being implemented.

Title IX includes information on Cost-sharing, Tax Credits, and Medical Device Tax

Title X includes information on the Indian Health Care System 

Information Professional page includes information of Health Literacy, Consumer Information, and additional resources

New York State page includes information pertaining to NYS implementation of ACA

 

NYAM 166th Anniversary Discourse: "Birth Pangs of the ACA in Perspective" - David Blumenthal, MD, MPP

ACA Analysis/Synthesis

Health Information Technology for Clinical and Economic Health provision of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act

  • Health Information Technology in the United States: Better Information Systems for Better Care
    RWJF, 2013 (PDF file)
    In this report we continue to track progress toward the goal of universal adoption of electronic health records. We track the progress of hospitals and physicians, both overall and among those providers serving vulnerable populations; examine the state of health information exchange and mirroring emphasis at the federal level of implementing and using these technologies in a way that improves patient care, and; we examine the use of these tools for population management and patient education.
  • Findings and Lessons From the Improving Quality Through Clinician Use of Health IT Grant Initiative
    AHRQ, May 2013
    This report summarizes the extent to which the projects addressed the areas of interest of the IQHIT initiative and identifies practical insights regarding the use of health IT to improve clinical decisionmaking and care coordination in the ambulatory setting. It presents illustrative project findings in an effort to inform research discussion and provide guidance to other entities implementing health IT systems that help clinicians improve the quality of patient care.
  • A Vision for Quality Data Infrastructure to Support Health System Transformation  
      
    NASHP, June 2013
    This brief describes key elements of an aligned health IT-enabled quality measurement infrastructure as identified by state, federal and private leaders involved in the HIT Trailblazers States project, a joint initiative of the National Academy for State Health Policy (NASHP) and ONC.
  • A Systematic Review of Methods for Health Care Technology Horizon Scanning  
      
    AHRQ, August 2013 (PDF file)
    Horizon scanning involves two processes. The first is the identification and monitoring of new and evolving health care interventions that are purported to or may hold potential to diagnose, treat, or otherwise manage a particular condition or to improve care delivery for a variety of conditions.
  • Health Information Technology: More Than the Money
    Alliance for Health Reform, October 2008 (PDF file)
    Many policymakers, health professionals and other stakeholders envision health information technology (HIT) primarily as a cost-saving tool. Other analysts, however, believe that the main importance of HIT lies in its potential for improving health care quality and reducing health care disparities.
  • Health Level Seven International
    Health Level Seven International (HL7) (web site)
    A global authority on standards for interoperability of health information technology with members in over 55 countries.
  • AHRQ Health IT Portfolio
    AHRQ, 2013 (web site)
    Since 2004, the Health IT Portfolio at the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) has funded research projects that are critical to improving health care for all Americans. Having invested in grants and contracts in more than 200 communities throughout the Nation, the Health IT Portfolio has expanded significantly over the years to include funding for projects that address cutting-edge, health IT-related issues.
  • Perceptions of Electronic Health Records and Their Effect on the Quality of Care: Results from a Survey of Patients in Four States
    Mathematica, November 2012 (PDF file)
    Patients generally had favorable perceptions of EHRs, and most believed that EHRs improved the quality of care. Patients of EHR adopters generally rated the quality of care they received more highly than did patients of non-adopters.
  • Crossing the Quality Chasm: A New Health System for the 21st Century
    NAP, 2001 (web site)
    This report is a call for action to improve the American health care delivery system as a whole, in all its quality dimensions, for all Americans.
  • 1st Annual Crossing the Quality Chasm Summit: A Focus on Communities
    NAP, 2004 (web site)
    The summit was organized to reinforce the Quality Chasm report’s core tenet of patient-centered health care.
  • To Err Is Human: Building a Safer Health System
    NAP, 2000 (web site)
    This report addresses issues related to patient safety, a subset of overall quality-related concerns, and lays out a national agenda for reducing errors in health care and improving patient safety.
  • ACA: A Brief Overview of the Law, Implementation, and Legal Challenges
    CRS, July 2012 (PDF file)
    This report provides a brief summary of major ACA provisions, implementation and oversight activities, and current legal challenges. For more detailed information on ACA’s provisions, CRS has produced a series of more comprehensive reports, which are available at http://www.crs.gov. The information provided in these reports ranges from broad overviews of ACA provisions, such as the law’s Medicare provisions, to more narrowly focused topics, such as dependent coverage for children under age 26.

Health Care Impasse

Special Projects Librarian

Profile Image
Danielle Aloia

Aggregate Information

Links to organizations that provide resources and information about the ACA.

Legislation

  • THE AFFORDABLE CARE ACT AT FIVE YEARS
    Commonwealth Fund, Mar 2015 (PDF file)
    Invited Testimony Senate Finance Committee United States Senate Hearing on “The Affordable Care Act at Five Years”
    March 19, 2015
  • Federal Health Reform: State Legislative Tracking Database  
      
    National Conference of State Legislatures, updated weekly (web site)
    The database is intended to capture state actions related to the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and the Health Care Education and Reconciliation Act, together referred to as the Affordable Care Act or federal health reform.
  • HHS OIG Work Plan - FY 2012: Appendix A: Affordable Care Act Reviews
    The reviews described in Appendix A address: New programs and initiatives created by the Affordable Care Act that are national in scope and significantly engage the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS); Existing HHS programs and operations (Medicare, Medicaid, and public health) that relate directly or indirectly to Affordable Care Act provisions.
  • Senate Health Insurance Reform: Stable, Secure Coverage for Americans
    Senate health insurance reform will reduce costs, improve health care quality and efficiency, and make stable, secure health care more affordable and more available by strengthening what works in the current health care system and fixing what does not.
  • AMA Support for Health Reform
    AMA, 2009 (PDF file)
    American Medical Association support for the America's Affordable Health Choices Act of 2009. ACA replaced this Act.
  • American College of Physicians Support Health Reform
    ACP, 2009 (PDF file)
    Support for the Affordable Health Choices Act of 2009. ACA replaced this Act.
  • Health Care Compact
    Health Care Compact Alliance (web site)
    The Health Care Compact is an interstate compact – which is simply an agreement between two or more states that is consented to by Congress – that restores authority and responsibility for health care regulation to the member states (except for military health care, which will remain federal), and provides the funds to the states to fulfill that responsibility.
  • Legislation, Regulation and Guidance
    Georgetown University (web site)
    Provides comprehensive legislative links to Federal Registers and Government documents.
  • Center for Health Law and Policy Innovation
    Harvard Law School

Current Views of Implementation

©The New York Academy of Medicine Library
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip